When the World Turns Upside Down

On Monday I found out I lost my job.  I actually had a sneaking suspicion on Friday due to an email I got, so I spent the weekend, including my birthday, staring at the wall and holding my kids.  By Monday, when the announcement was made, I was doing better and by Monday evening I could eat again.

Over 20 people lost there jobs in this re-organization.  Almost all of us work from home.  They have decided to centralize our jobs to one location.  It makes sense in my head.  I see where they are going and I’d absolutely prefer to lose my job over no fault of my own, but it sucks.  It sucks to go looking for another job and I don’t think the transition internally is going to go as smoothly as they want.  There are bound to be hiccups and the beginning of the year is one of the most challenging.  The teams I support will suffer the most, but I hope I’ve streamlined and organized things enough that it won’t be as hiccupy as it could be.

I have the option to apply internally.  Which I want to do – the company is kinda in my blood.  Mom worked there from the time I was 5 until I was 16 and then I worked for them when I was 15 for a summer and then full-time when I turned 20 until now with a year break to teach.  The health benefits are great and lets face it, once you’ve been with a company for a while your PTO is far better than when you started out.  I really hope I’m able to find a position internally.

On the other hand, if I don’t, I feel optimistic about where I could end up.  And the severance would be nice.

From here I have to make my resume great.  Apply internally.  Learn to interview (I’ve honestly never really done it).  Practice interviewing internally.  And if by January 30 I haven’t landed a job, I’ll begin the same process out on the world.

It’s scary.  I get anxious.  But I believe God is in this.  God is paving the path, I just need to follow and trust.  We have been blessed for so many years and we are so very thankful for that.

4 thoughts on “When the World Turns Upside Down

  1. *hugs* I’m so sorry. I know that feeling of being lost. When I found out I was getting laid off, it was otherworldly. But you’ll survive it. You’ll be okay. Keep your chin up and work hard and you’ll find yourself on the other side of it before you know it.

Leave a Reply

