The Top of Our World

I talked Zach into driving to the top of Mt. Evans for his birthday.  He told me he didn’t want to spend the whole day driving or hiking and I figured it was a good compromise.  I’ve always wanted to go and it’s not too far from us.

Mt Evans Road is the highest paved road in the North America.  A short hike from the parking lot leads to the top of the mountain where you can stand proud at 14, 263 feet and look around for miles and miles.  Well, if you didn’t go when we went.

The drive up the mountain had me pretty nervous.  I’m not too into mountain driving and we were driving in and out of the clouds so at times we couldn’t see but 10 feet in front of us.  I felt like we were going to drive off.

As we approached the top we ran into a heard of Mountain Goats that actually followed us up to the parking lot where a baby and mama walked right in front of Isaac, about two feet away.  It was pretty crazy and fun.

We watched the clouds come and go and the wind blow.

After a bit of investigating, we headed up the trail to the top of the mountain.  At the top the clouds really blew in.  We had a brief moment to see exactly how high we were.

But as Zach and Isaac stood at the top most point, there was nothing but a white wall of clouds.

We heard some thunder, so headed down the mountain as fast as we could. Mountain tops are not the best place to be in a thunder storm!  We lost the trail and ended up having to boulder down to the car.  It was a good thing I wrapped Lynzie up or I don’t know how we would have managed it.

Back at the car, I started to get a headache.  We drank water and then went in search of a geocache.  We saw a Marmot and Isaac build his very own Rock Tower.

We eventually, got back into the car and started the drive home.  I wasn’t feeling too well, but we decided to try to find another geocache on our way off the mountain.  I knew I was having altitude sickness, although this was a first for me.

As we parked and were searching for the cache on a switchback, a bunch of Sheep came out and eventually drove us back to the car, where they surrounded us.  It was serious fun watching them so close.

I began to feel worse, nausea on top of the headache, but we still stopped by the garden center to explore.  The birds were singing and it was so quiet and peaceful.

 Finally, we headed home.  I got a bit worse, but then began to feel better.  But by the time we got home I was miserable.  I thought I was going to throw up.  Thankfully, my headache had gone away.  I drank a bunch of water and went straight to bed.

Three days later, I was still feeling off.  I was light-headed, sick to my stomach, extremely tired, having trouble catching my breath and had this burning pain in my back.  After Googling (don’t do this), I began to convince myself that I might be having a heart attack and the anxiety of this thought was making it worse (I’m convinced of this).

We were supposed to be going camping with family in Wyoming the next day, but that didn’t seem like the best idea if I was really sick.  After Isaac’s T-Ball game we headed to the ER.

Two hours later and a bunch of test (totaling almost $10,000) I was diagnosed with low potassium, given potassium, told to eat lots of potassium and that I should be okay because everything else looked fine.

It was a scary day, but it gave us the opportunity to talk with Isaac about emergencies and what to do.  Poor kid had no clue, which is completely our fault.

We slept the night and then packed up for camping in Wyoming.

 

6 thoughts on “The Top of Our World

Leave a Reply

