LASIK

I don’t remember when I got my first glasses.  I had reading glasses at 11 or 12 I think, but then somewhere along the line I migrated to full-time glasses.  But 16, I would take my eye test at the DMV without my glasses, just in case I forgot them.

I tried contacts, but with my astigmatism they were a PITA to find the ones that worked and after a month or so I’d get too lazy to put them in (which was almost a 15 minute comedy act each time).

Four and a half years ago when Zach had LASIK done, I was convinced I could never do it.  My biggest obstacle was that my prescription changed so each year, but it was around the time Isaac was born that my prescription stabilized.  Changing such a minor amount some years that I didn’t even get new lenses.

When Lynzie was born, my prescription still didn’t change and she became that baby that was obsessed with my glasses (Isaac couldn’t care less).  She was always grabbing them, getting finger prints on them and my thoughts floated to LASIK.

I’ve been toying with the idea for about a year, but I still didn’t know if it would be possible.  At one point, I thought I should do it before our trip to Disneyland in April, but then I started to stress about how much money those two things would be together, so I let it go.

Once we returned from the trip and I realized that I’d budgeted appropriately, I began to think about it a bit more and then finally I called.  It was the last week and a half of school for Zach (busy time) and he was missing an employee, but the place I wanted to go to only does surgeries on Tuesday and Thursday.  I went in for a consult on Thursday and surgery on the following Tuesday.  It was Zach’s school’s last day, which is the crazy day, but after that, Zach would always be on a field trip and unable to take any part of the day off.

We arranged for Zach to take me in the morning and after the surgery, I’d hang at my parent’s house where Stacy would watch the kids and put drops in my eyes between naps.

Before the surgery I was most concerned about losing the look of glasses.  They’ve really become a part of me over the last 15+ years, almost half my life.  I’m not particularly fond of the puffy dark circles under my eyes and the glasses hid those.

Here I am a little over a month after my surgery and I’d recommend it hands down to anyone.  I’m still missing the look, but I just try not to look in the mirror.  The things I’ve enjoyed since are amazing and I can only say I wish I’d done it sooner.

A few of the highlights:

  • I can see how dirty the shower is (I don’t necessarily think this is a good thing, but maybe I’ll clean more).
  • Far less eye-strain when working on the computer.  I noticed this just the day after surgery.
  • Everything is so CLEAR!  I was used to looking through dirty glasses, now I see 20/15.
  • Watching the Honey Moon (full moon) rise as I watched a movie in the park – AMAZING!  Previously, this sort of thing, caused glare or points where I couldn’t see because of my frame.  Plus, if you laid on your head wrong the frames hurt.  This had to be a super highlight for me.
  • The stars!  We have so many!
  • Being able to really see through my view finder on my camera.
  • Seeing my eyes.
  • Not having to search for my glasses when they’d been knocked off the dresser.
  • Not having to bow my head while walking in the rain in an attempt to avoid water spots in my lenses .
  • Seeing while swimming!

I thought I’d like being able to wear any old pair of sunglasses, but it turns out, I prefer to be glasses free and my eyes aren’t overly sensitive to sun unless we are at the pool.

I so wish I’d ditched the glasses sooner, but I’m glad I didn’t wait forever!

Leave a Reply

