When Nap Time Fails

Nap times have been rough lately.  Isaac has always been a good sleeper and taken a very good afternoon nap.  It is part of what has allowed us to keep him home while I work.  Since school has been out, naps happen less and less.  This is problematic when the kids take a nap in the same room.

I normally put the kids down, turn on the ocean noise that is on a 1 hour timer and Lynzie goes right to sleep, but Isaac is hit or miss.  He knows that when the ocean turns off he can get up.  Sometimes he can’t even wait that long before is he up asking for something.

Today was different.  I turned the music on and walked out of the room.  A minute or so later I heard laughter and playing….then it was 20 minutes, then it was 40 minutes.  The kids played for close to an hour and when the music turned off, Isaac popped out.  I told him since he’d been playing he needed to go back to his room and I’d come get him when it was time to get up.

No arguments, but soon I heard more jumping and playing and the radio on.  I let it go and eventually I heard Lynzie fuss for a minute and Isaac apologized for waking her up.  When I was done with work, Lynzie was fast asleep, with both of Isaac’s pillows and his radio – Ha!

Today I let it go.  I didn’t let it bother me and they were fine.  In fact, part of me just loves sitting and listening to them chat and play together.  As I started this blog they were in our room across the hall, sitting on the floor with a basket of books.  Isaac was reading and Lynzie was playing.  I love these moments and want to hold tight.

One thought on “When Nap Time Fails

  1. He’s getting to that age where he might not need to nap much anymore. I was so sad when Julian dropped his last nap. I’ve been having problems with Oliver getting out of bed and wandering through the house in the middle of the night and right after I put him down. This too shall pass!

Leave a Reply

