Babywearing

I don’t remember where I learned about babywearing or why I made the decision to wear Isaac. Maybe it was all the baby bjorn’s I used to see. I do remember researching and deciding upon a Moby wrap. This was probably due to the fact that it was cheaper than any other option.

I loved the Moby (a stretchy wrap) when Isaac was little, but I always struggled with wearing him for longer periods of time as he got a little heavier. It seemed to stretch out and become uncomfortable.

We did purchase an old Bjorn from Craigslist, but I honestly can only remember using it one time, only at the house and when I was done, my back hurt so bad. I knew I’d never go back. I began researching and eventually ended up purchasing an ERGObaby carrier. I was so scared I wasn’t going to like it. Back then there wasn’t a place I could go try it on and see if would work and all the reviews were great.

I ended up loving the ERGO. I specifically bought it for Isaac’s first airplane trip (all the way across the country to Boston). It was wonderful!!! Easy, compact, comfortable and Isaac loved it. We used the ERGO all the time – in fact it was always in the car and was even used by me while I was pregnant with Lynzie and Isaac was three and a half.

BUT….

I follow a blog of a friend from high school who I played cello with. She became pregnant after Isaac was born and when he soon was born she wrapped him using woven wraps. Not only were they beautiful, she would wrap him on her back in positions where he was still part of the action. I’d rarely worn Isaac on my back because he was so low it felt like he wasn’t there.

I determined that with two having a high back carry might be a necessity. I started reading and watching YouTube. By the time we were pregnant, I’d fully committed. And midway through my pregnancy I bought my first wrap – a Didymos Indio Terra – linen blend size six.

I couldn’t wait to get my package – I was so excited! When n it arrived I was slightly disappointed. I tried to brush it off. I’d thought the Moby was a lot of material….this was n never ending. At six or seven months pregnant, I attempted my first wrap with an uncooperative three year old. It was a mess! I was slightly depressed about it.

You’d think that maybe I’d give up, send the wrap back and stick with what I already loved. I’m a little too stubborn for that. Instead I bought a second wrap – another Didymos, but this time used, much shorter and 100% cotton. When this one arrived, I again used a very unwilling subject and was nine months pregnant.

And then Lynzie was born. I was determined to get the wrapping thing down. It wasn’t easy and there were times I wondered what I was doing, but I made it, at least a little bit. I made my husband take lots of photos every time at every angle so I could see where to improve.

And then I made Zach wrap – okay, truth be told, he held his hands to the side and I wrapped Lynzie on him. And then he asked me to do it again…and again…and then I told him he needed to learn how to do it himself. He did, only one way, but it was his preferred way from when I was helping him. In fact I think he might be better at that version than I am now.

Originally, we thought Zach would use the ERGO and I would wrap. But we used the ERGO once with Lynzie. I suspect it might get some more use this summer, I do miss having a pocket and hoops to hook things on.

I’ve even wrapped Isaac up once, when we had to go to the store and he had been sick. He only agreed to go if I carried him…he might not be that heavy at 30 pounds, but I still didn’t want to hand carry him. He loved the wrap. He choose to put his arms in and cuddle up. After thirty minutes, he was in a far better mood than when we arrived. Amazing what some snuggles can do.

I expected to love the back carries, and I do. I love being able to see Lynzie while she is back there, feel when she is asleep and she loves to be able to see. I also feel so much safer when I’m cooking. I didn’t expect to love front carries as much. Wrapping is so different from the ERGO. It’s almost like being pregnant all over again, Zach likes it because it’s snuggly and cuddly. Adjustments are easy for nursing, but the best part is the support without a belt going across my hip bones. It is so much easier and comfortable to sit with the wrap on (and I never really noticed it being uncomfortable with the ERGO).

I’m thankful I got two wraps…the size six is neutral colors and just barely long enough for Zach. He doesn’t like to wear the girly pink wrap. 🙂 I love both the wraps for different reasons, but I’d really like a size five. The six is sometimes to long for me…and I’m not a huge pink fan. I’d really like this wrap and to try some other materials…silk, hemp, etc, but Zach thinks I’m crazy. So until I can talk him into another, it’ll just have to stay on my wish list.

**I might update with photos soon, but the baby is crying and wants to eat.**

One thought on “Babywearing

  1. Baby wearing is one of the few things I miss about my kids being babies. Enjoy it while you can! I do miss it… that, and nursing. And frequent naps, lol.

Leave a Reply

