The History of Beds

11 plus years ago when Zach and I first started dating, Zach had a queen sized waterbed frame with foam inside for a mattress.  I remember it had a dent in the middle that was perfectly formed to his body.  Around the time he moved apartments (about 9 months before we got married), he upgraded to a real mattress.

During this same period I was sleeping in my single sized bed.  I’m slightly confused on when I moved from my king-sized waterbed to my single sized regular bed, but I think it was during high school.  My single bed wasn’t the most comfortable and I was always getting cold at night because I just didn’t have enough extra covers on the side.  So when Zach bought his bed, I decided I needed to grow up to and I bought the same exact bed.

When we got married, of course, we just used the bed Zach had.  My bed stayed at my parent’s until we bought our house and then it became our guest bed.  When we got pregnant and Stacy was coming back to live at Mom and Dad’s as a married woman, we gave them back my old bed for Stacy and then eventually the guest room (my old room) and made the guest room into Isaac’s room.

Nine years ago we made these bed purchases and really that have been perfect.  They are extremely comfortable, but over the last year or so, we’ve been thinking it was time to grow-up again.  With my back pain, I can no longer sleep on my stomach, this means I should be sleeping on my side, but in order to do this I need a body pillow or I flop right back onto my stomach.  This takes up a little over half the queen.  Then if Zach is in bed, I’m immediately pulled towards him as he weighs more than I do.  And then, most nights you can add Isaac into the equation either for before bed snuggles, or 3AM warmups after he pees.  When Isaac comes in between 3-6 we usually just fall back to sleep, but are woken up by kicks and not being able to move as the bed is at full capacity.  Good thing we kicked the 90+ pound dog and 60 pound dog off the bed during my first pregnancy!

Anyway, we decided we needed a new bed and that we had just enough tax refund to cover such a splurge.  Upgrading to a new size bed is expensive!  New sheets, new mattress pad, new bedspread, etc.

With our queens we’ve always just had the metal frame with a bed skirt and the box springs.  We’ve hated that.  First, Guinness likes to lean up against the bed and gets the bed skirt dirty and it needs to be washed every two or three days and it’s a pain to get off and back on.  Second, we should be able to get a few boxes under the bed and we can, but it’s hard.  You have to push and it scraps against the bottom of the bed.  Third we have no headboard.  I know that doesn’t seem like that big of deal, but it makes it seem like we are still kids and Zach has been taking off the paint on the walls with his ring.

We decided this time we’d see if we could find a bed frame that would be low enough for the headboard to be under the window, but high enough for storage and so we didn’t feel like we were on the ground.  We were also trying to find something that would be easy for Isaac to get on as our old bed was too tall and we still had to help him get up.  If we could find something for less or the same price as the frame and box springs, we’d go that direction.

We found the perfect bed at IKEA for less than the box springs and frame.  It is actually the only bed we saw in our investigation (which lasted months) that fit everything we wanted.  So last weekend, we bought a mattress (a King sized, plush pillowtop Beautyrest), a bed from IKEA and all the fixings.  We put together the bed frame on Saturday, put our queen mattress on it and slept the night, then early Sunday morning our new mattress was delivered.  Thankfully, I had washed and dried all the new bedding and we were able to make it all up before Isaac even woke up.

I’m in love.  I feel more grown up.  Both Zach and I have space.  And when Isaac is doing his neb on Zach’s side of the bed, there is still room for Zach to be on the bed.  And as it is plush with a little bit of memory foam pillowtop, I’m sleeping better.  Zach says I don’t move at all.  I can tell my growing belly has more support and my hips and back that have been hurting for years have been perfect for the last week.  My only complaint is the covers.  Remember, how I was stating that I upgraded to a queen because the twin didn’t have enough covers, well, now I seems to have too many and sometimes I can’t get out of them when I get too hot in the middle of the night.  It’s like a never-ending sea of covers.  I’m sure I’ll get used to it and it’s a small price to pay for all the benefits we get.

Oh, and remember the storage problem?  We used to have to fight to get two bed-boxes under the bed.  Now they slide easily and we have room for a total of six if we want to expand.  Nice.  Sometimes it’s good to spend a little money on yourself and grow-up a bit.

One thought on “The History of Beds

  1. Yay! We did that last month. Our first head board in 11 years of marriage. I felt grown up too. Some people at church gave us an extra new temperpedic they had and its been amazing on my back. Now how did you successfully kick the dogs out, I am SO ready for that…

Leave a Reply

