Summer

I can’t believe it’s so hot already.  It feels just like summer, but instead it is just coming really quickly.

Isaac has two more classes this school year and then an end of year program.  I can’t believe he has gone through his first school year, even if it is only preschool.  He has grown so much and I love that he is able to tell me about his day and his friends and why certain classmates are his friends and other are not.  He has had an amazing lead teacher who is more creative than all the teachers I ever worked with at the two year old level.  I really hope his teachers next year are just as amazing.  Isaac’s little girlfriend is potty trained (she is eight months younger than him), so she should be in the same class as he is.  His other best friend is still in diapers, so I don’t know if they will be in the same class or not – depends on if he potty trains this summer.  I think Isaac is going to miss school over the summer.

I only wish school was five minutes away instead of fifteen.  If Zach gets a teaching job next year, I’ll have to take Isaac and pick him up…and haul another baby around after November.  Ugh!  But it is so, so good for him.

Isaac had a four week hockey class in April.  It was Saturday mornings and he loved it.  He has been asking to go, but they don’t do anything until the fall again.  So Zach listed all the different things Isaac could do and his first choice was swimming.  Which is my first choice too.  I was already thinking of putting him in some swim lessons, because he hates the water so much I think it would be good to work on it on a consistent basis and swimming lessons are one of the things I loved most growing up.  So today we signed Isaac up for classes for five weeks starting June 11.  He is super excited and wanted to go today…we are having a hard time understanding time lately.

Isaac has asked to go to the zoo for a couple of weeks…the one with the elephants…he asks almost every day.  When we went to the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo a few weeks back, they were in the process of recreating the elephant area, so they were in hiding.  I told him on Monday we’d go on Saturday and he has been super excited all week.  He woke up from nap on Monday and said he was ready to go.  So I had to show him on the calendar how far away it was and everything that was going to happen first.  Today was the last event – school – so when we went to the library this afternoon, he announced to everyone that he was “going to the zoo tomorrow, the one with the elephants, not the new one.”  So we are headed to the zoo on Saturday.  I hope I can make it.  I’ve haven’t been feeling very good this week.  I’m feeling the baby move, but I’m also feeling pain on my pelvic bone.  I think I’ll call the doctor tomorrow.

We are going to the Sand Dunes the first weekend in June.  We want to go early to try to get some water in the creek because Isaac would love it, so it is going to be the first family-only trip in a few years.  But it’s weird to go so early, at the start of the summer.  Sand Dunes normally marks the end of the summer for me.

We have four weddings this year.  We haven’t been to a wedding in a while, so I’m pretty excited.

Our first wedding is in June in Castlewood Canyon.  This is the same place Zach and I got married, but I have a feeling this wedding will be quite different from ours, mainly because they are using a different site and they are having the reception there as well.

Our next wedding is July 6, but it is in Nashville, and we’ve made the decision not to go.  Originally we were going to go (we love Nashville), but we just don’t have the money this year.  Yes, we could put it on a credit card, but I really prefer to keep my debt to student loans and mortgages.  We are so, so sad to miss this event.

Then we have a wedding July 21.   This one is in Boulder and Zach is one of the groomsmen.  I’m so excited for this couple and to celebrate with them.  The first time I met Russ was two days before our wedding and then when he moved back to Colorado a few years later he became one of our closest friends.  We are so glad he met such a wonderful, down-to-earth girl that we actually enjoy hanging out with…it’s also nice to know a pediatric ER doctor. 🙂

Our final wedding is in October.  I’m really hoping we make it to that one, but we do have a lot going on during that month, so we’ll see.

I guess I need to get Zach to some dance classes fast….he only has about a month to learn before our first wedding!

That’s about all for our summer plans, well, maybe not.  I also want to:

  • Sand and paint the trim.
  • Re-do my bathroom.
  • Go camping a few times.
  • Go to Grand Junction for peaches.
  • Maybe go to Utah for camping.
  • Go swimming.
Leave a Reply

