16 Week Update

I can’t believe I haven’t posted in a month.

I was thinking the other day about how much I love to read the post I wrote when I was pregnant with Isaac.  It helps me realize how much the same and different this pregnancy is, so this is going to be pretty much a 100% pregnancy post.

Tomorrow I’ll be 16 weeks along.  I went to the doctor on Friday and as always, everything is fine.  Right as they got me into a room, the doctor I was supposed to be seeing ending up having to go upstairs to deliver a baby, so I talked with the nurse practioner for a while. We listened to the heartbeat and talked about my various ailements.  She actually spent quite a bit more time with me than the doctors normally do.  Before I could go she had to get a doctor to come and sign off and by that time my doctor was back from delivering the baby…it was seriously like 30 minutes later…so I got to see her.

Next time I go in is our big ultrasound.  The one where we count fingers and toes, look at the heart and organ and find out the gender.  Last time we didn’t find out what we were having, but this time we are hoping to, but we aren’t quite sure if we want the world to know or not.  It might be that the only people who really know are the ones who can get it out of Isaac, cause let’s be real, he can’t keep a secret, not at all.

Two weeks ago I was having severe acid reflux.  I was waking up every night several times because my throat was on fire and it had gotten to the point where I was hesitant to drink water and I didn’t want to eat anything…it was all compounded by the constipation too.  I was miserable, so much so I gave the doctor a call to see if there was anything I could do beyond TUMS which weren’t doing much and really just made me want to puke.  She told me to take some Pepcid twice a day.

Oh my was I happy when just 1 hour after taking the first pill, I was fine.  We had Mexican and I was fine.  I slept through the night for the first time in weeks.  It was wonderful.  I kept on the 2 pills a day routine for three days and I was back to normal.  Now, I take it every two or three days when I first start to feel it.  That combined with my daily Metamucil has me feeling pretty good…at least my digestive tract.

I’m having a lot of hip and pelvic pain and it’s generally worse when we do a lot of walking.  I guess that’s to be expected, but I really don’t remember it this early on with Isaac.

I can still wear my non-maternity clothing, but Zach dug out my maternity clothes a few weeks ago and I with all my stomach issues I’ve found the pants and shorts are much more comfortable, but I have to pull them up a lot….I’m really not big enough to be wearing them.  I’ve gained exactly 3 pounds…which is pretty good I suppose.

At the doctor the other day I felt my first movement.  When she was trying to listen to the heartbeat, we heard the heartbeat briefly, then I felt something and the heartbeat went away…she found it again on the other side of my belly.  Over the weekend I felt a few more vague movements…so excited to get to the point where I feel the baby move more.  I can’t wait until Isaac gets to feel it.  He already talks about “his” baby and what she looks like and what she is going to do.  And yes, he always calls the baby a she and only compares “his” baby to girl babies, not boy babies.  At least he has a stance and is sticking to it.

One thought on “16 Week Update

  1. How wonderful! Isaac’s stories are so cute, he has such a fun personality. I have been reading about acid reflux… you can read why in my blogs, the password is 101780. Anyways… I found out that it has been scientifically proven that if you have bad heart burn during pregnancy you are going to have a baby with a FULL head of hair. They backed it up with some science but like you I am sure its not comforting while going through it. Glad you were given another option to fix that. It is quite miserable.

Leave a Reply

