Monsters

Isaac began telling us he had a monster by his crib a few weeks ago, but it has gotten more forceful in the last couple of days.  He doesn’t want to go to bed by himself.  He doesn’t want us to shut his door or turn his lights off (or the hall light for that matter).

This morning the first thing he said to me was about the monster by his crib.  This evening I made him show me the monster.  Turns out it is the shadow on the wall that the light from the hall makes of the crib.  I walked him over to it, we touched it.  He giggled…grabbed his undies and ran out of the room.

A few minutes later, he informed me there was a “monster” by the chair in the dining room.  Yes, it was a shadow of the chair.

Then he had an accident, so I took his pants off, sent him to the bathroom and went to his room to put dispose of the pants.  He never made it to the bathroom.  He was crying…scared to go into the bathroom because the light in the bathroom was off and the hall light was making a shadow of him.  So I went to walk in with him, but my shadow was bigger and scarer and he kept backing me out.

This just keeps on happening tonight.  He won’t go into any room that has a shadow and he only wants to be held.  How did this kid who loves monsters and wasn’t scared of the dark, suddenly become completely freaked out by shadows?  How do I teach my child what a shadow is and not to be afraid of it?

One thought on “Monsters

  1. We had a similar thing happen with Liam when he was younger. I got a great book called Good Night Oakey that is all about shadow monsters and how they aren’t really monsters. I’d be happy to lend it to you if you want. Just let me know.

Leave a Reply

