Missed a Day

I knew it was going to happen at some point, I had hope I’d make it 365 days, but I knew it was a long shot.  I thought about blogging yesterday, but when 1AM rolled around this morning, I realized I’d missed it.  At least it was for good reason.

Every year we have a party on St. Patty’s Day.  We started this celebration years ago, I was at work one St. Patty’s Day and was listening to a co-worker tell about how they eat green food on St. Patty’s Day and have since his son was little and he was getting ready to go to college.  I thought, how fun.  Wouldn’t it be fun to create a a similar tradition?  That night, back in 2006, I made my own “green” food and we invited my mom, sister and father-in-law and enjoyed the evening.

The next year, we had the same meal (Chicken Pesto Pasta), but invited a few friends.  One couple shared a game with us – The Gummy Bear Game.  It was a game her grandmother had made up for her and her siblings when she was a kid.  It is easy, interactive and has now become a staple of our party.

Five years later, this is probably our favorite get together of the year at our house (fire pits a close second), but it requires a lot of work from me.  Yesterday was no different, but was probably my most enjoyable St. Patty’s Day yet.

It was my most enjoyable for several reasons:

  1. I was organized and completely prepared.  When our first guests arrived, instead of rushing around trying to finish last minute things, I was sitting at the table on my computer.  The food was done, the kitchen was clean, the table wasn’t cluttered.This year I added baking my own green bread, on top of making the meal for 15ish people.
  2. We had lots of kiddos….six I think under five.  I made my heart so happy to watch them play and interact with each other and it makes things easier on the parents, because they keep each other entertained and happy.
  3. Good friends, good conversations and of course, Gummy Bears!
  4. At the end, when I woke up this morning, the kitchen was clean, all the toys were picked up.  My house almost looked exactly like it did before the party, so nice.

Isaac made it until about 1:30 before he melted down and didn’t want to go to bed.  Through the tears I put his jammies on and grabbed his blanket and brought him back down to snuggle with me while I talked with our final guests.  In a matter of minutes, he was sound asleep and making cute little sleeping sounds and reminding me that I had forgotten to blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

