Nakedness

I tried not to show my concern as the three customer service staff rushed around looking in various places.  I overheard a conversation between two of them reading a description.  Oh great!  They’ve lost it.  What happens when they lose a ring?  Does it ever happen?

20 minutes we wait.  Isaac, of course, doesn’t want to sit, so we wander the store, we go to the bathroom and finally when I think we are on the verge of a major breakdown….”Jennifer?”

Oh, thank goodness!

I walk to the counter where she presents me with my ring.  Oh, how I’ve missed it!.  Three whole days!  I felt so naked without it…how such a tiny thing can make you feel so whole.  And now it is beautiful…cleaned and polished and oh so sparkly.   I feel like I’m getting married tomorrow, instead of having been married for almost seven years.

Last week, I was snuggling on the couch with a blanket when my ring got caught.  Basically, the top of one of the points of the prongs that holds the diamond fell off.  While it still seemed stable, I didn’t want to risk losing the diamond…and the ring is always under warranty to be fixed in cases like this, so we took it in.  They offered to polish up Zach’s as well, but he felt too naked in the five minutes he had it off for them to clean it, so he decided against it.

So happy to have my ring back and not feel so naked!

Leave a Reply

