Crunching Snow

Cotton pulling makes me cringe.  In fact even thinking about it sends a shiver up my spine.  Chewing ice is about the same for me.   The sound of freezing snow crunching under tires isn’t that much different than these, but it fills me with happiness.

I ventured out today to go to the gym.  I was going to go to the gym on Monday, but it was snowing and cold.  I was going to go to the gym on Tuesday, but with temps only in the negative double digits, I decided to stay in.  But today, the temps were much higher – in the single digits, so I decided to brave the cold.

As I pulled out of my garage, I heard the familiar sound of snow crunching, but it is slightly different than “normal” when it is this cold.  I can’t quite describe it, but if you’ve experienced crunching snow and then freezing crunching snow, you’ll understand.

As I was walking to my car, I breathed deep breaths of that freezing cold air.  Maybe it was because I was willingly out in it and I knew at a max I’d only be spending 2 minutes in the cold, but it was so reviving.

The cold reminds me of a trip to Wisconsin I took years ago.  I don’t remember all the detail, in fact, my memory is probably pretty shabby.  And I made other trips, and I’m sure I confuse them.   I’ll blame it on meeting too many new people.

What I do remember about the trip is the cold – it was January.  I wore the same coat today, that I wore on that trip and yet it was over 10 years ago!  I remember the sound the tires made and how I never really felt warm.  My favorite place was on the heated waterbed I shared with a friend, as it gave me some relief from the cold.

I was a young college student, trying to grow up.  I was an uptight, do everything by the book type of gal who seemed to have no fun.  I was boy crazy and one of those boys (J) happened to live in Wisconsin, while my actual boyfriend was back in Colorado.

One night we went out to a restaurant for dinner.  I had to go to the bathroom, so I asked if J would order me pot roast if the waitress came while I was away.  Of course, he said yes.  Well, when the food arrived I was presented with a beautiful slice of Cherry Pie (I HATE CHERRIES).  I freaked out.  That is the best way for me to describe it.  By the time I realized it was a joke I was too embarrassed about being upset to even calm down.  Poor J…he was just trying to have fun and instead I put a wall up.  I’d like to think I wouldn’t respond in that same way today, that I’ve grown and am a “better” person, but I don’t think we’ll ever really know as everyone is scared to death to order me a Cherry Pie.

This was also the trip I dyed my hair.  It was the first time ever and I went with dark red “highlights” in my dirty blond hair.  I don’t know that it was one of my best decisions, as I wore a hat to school for several days.  Thankfully, it was temporary dye, but then it just faded to pinkish.

All this to say that the crunching snow reminds me of this trip and I’m so very thankful that the people I went on the trip with are still in my life.  That while they might not technically be family, they are family in my heart and have embraced Zach (and no, Zach wasn’t one of the boys mentioned).

 

One thought on “Crunching Snow

  1. LOVE THE NEW BACKGROUND. I was thinking of changing mine too. I am shocked to see you wrote about that night. Good for you for going past it. (You never know what somebody is going to order for you now 😛 )Someday you’ll have to come to WI in the fall and we can go apple picking there. I’m glad we are still sharing this life together too! ~J

Leave a Reply

