Write. Read.

I sit here tonight wondering what  I should write about.  I’m sure this will happen to me several times over the year, but it is also one of the reasons I wanted to challenge myself to write everyday.  In my current situation (working from home, no school, not much adult interaction, etc), I’ve felt like I was losing skills, primarily those of reading and writing.

It’s not that I’ve forgotten how to write.  I write everyday – business emails that say the same thing over and over or Facebook status or Twitter updates where I’m forced to use as few words as possible to get my message across.  While these are all good skills, personal and educational/intellectual writing is also good – especially for one ex-English teacher who wants to return to teaching.  And so I write.

My thoughts regarding reading are following the same path.  I find that if I don’t make time for reading and goals regarding reading, I can spend that time getting lost in TV or on the computer or cleaning house or making bread or playing trains or running a child up the stairs to get to the bathroom or a handful of other things.  Like any skill, understanding written words requires practice and training – the more you do it the better and faster you get.  And so I read.

I wonder though if sometimes practice doesn’t make perfect, or maybe it’s the fact that sometimes we practice wrong.  Just because I “practice” being a parent everyday, doesn’t necessarily mean I’m a better parent.  And even though I write definitely or vacuum everyday doesn’t mean I’ll ever really know how to spell them.  Sometimes their are just obsticals that can’t be over come…

For now: I’ll write.  I’ll read.  And enjoy my practicing moments as much as I can without worrying too much about the end result.

One thought on “Write. Read.

Leave a Reply

