Honey Oat

Today’s reason for loving working from home…for lunch I can make bread and it has time to rise all afternoon. 🙂

I’m really enjoying this bread making thing.  I made another of the same loaf from my success last week on Sunday.  I only let it rise once this time, but we went to the store, so it rose for much longer than the other loaf.  This loaf was good too, but more like traditional white sandwich bread.  My first one had been more rusticy.  I liked the first one better. 🙂

I LOVE honey oat bread.  So today I decided to try a honey oat bread.  I followed this recipe with some modifications.  First, I only did half the recipe.  Second, I substituted half the flour for wheat flour.  I also used raw honey, because that is what I had – I’m not sure this was a great idea, but we’ll see.

As I stated, I did this during lunch, but I also cook Isaac lunch and but him to bed during this time.  Right about the time I needed to mix everything together, he needed to go to the bathroom, so everything got put on hold and I think the waters got a little cold and so the dough didn’t rise as much as I would have liked it too, but maybe that was something else too.

The bread is currently in the oven and smells mighty nice.  Can’t wait to have a slice!

One thought on “Honey Oat

  1. Sounds yummy. I did my overnight loaf one night with 1 less cup flour and 1 cup ground oats instead and then added another 1/2 cup oats and honey to it. Totally yummy! I am trying a soaked flour biscuit recipe tomorrow. This will be interesting.

Leave a Reply

