First Day

Tomorrow is Zach’s first day of student teaching.  I can’t believe it finally here.  It is definitely a period of unknown for us.  It’s like a first day at a brand-new job, but without the pay.

Not having a second income is a bit scare for us.  We have a bit of savings, but we’ve never really had to scrap by, so learning how to not spend money will be a bit of a struggle for me, but a good one I’m sure.

We had to buy Zach some new clothes for this new journey.   Of course, it gave me a heart attack because I’m trying not to spend money, but jeans and a polo every day just won’t cut it.  We got him some dress pants and some button up/no iron shirts.  He says he is going to tuck them in, which is just baffling to me.  I get that he’ll “look” more professional, but he is a bit awkwardly proportioned and I think tucking in the shirt brings that out more, it’ll definitely be a change seeing him all dressed up everyday.

Zach will also be leaving in the morning 1.5 hours later than he used to.  WHOA!  This means he’ll be leaving when I go to work, which means I don’t get my hour of uninterrupted quiet alone sleep time.  I know, a bit selfish of me, but I’m going to miss that time, but I’m hoping it’ll lead to bigger (smaller) and better things.   See, I figure, if I get out of bed at the same time as Zach I can either workout downstairs or go to the gym for 30-40 minutes.  I could never go before as the gym only opened 30 minutes before Zach needed to leave for work and with travel time it didn’t make it worth it.

Another big change for us, is Zach won’t be home in the middle of the day anymore.  This means I don’t get a break from working and being Mommy at the same time, which I’ve done so we’ll manage and we don’t get to eat lunch with Zach.  Zach needs to bring a lunch with him everyday, so we are going to have to be a bit more organized and plan ahead of time.  I think it’ll be good.  More focus on what we are eating instead of what we want at that given moment.

We still don’t know if this will be easier, harder or just about the same as school plus work, but we have high hopes that it’ll allow Zach to have more time with us as a family.  After all, he isn’t going to be split between work, home and school, just work and home.  That seems a bit better in my mind.

May 8th here we come!

4 thoughts on “First Day

  1. Lots of changes… we are still adjusting but God seems to work them all out to be better. I am sure you will adjust and LOVE having him not having to do homework all the time. I am excited for you guys. Tell him good luck today!

  2. Let me know how it goes….I know he will do great things. Good luck with all the changes at home, I hope it is all for the better. Love you.

Leave a Reply

