A New Year

Today is a yucky kind of day.  After dealing with a sick kid for most of last week, I’ve got the dreaded cold….body aches are getting me most.  Thankfully it’s only day three of a four day weekend and I’m feeling better than yesterday, so hopefully tomorrow will be even better.

We celebrated Isaac’s birthday two days ago.  It was our first big snow storm of the year, so it was only the usual crew – Mom, Dad, Ron, Cody, Ashley and Susie – but Isaac had a ton of fun and kept asking for “more presies.”

I made Isaac a special cake.  One of his favorite books has been the Very Hungry Caterpillar, long story short I decided to make him a strawberry cake in the shape of a caterpillar with Cream Cheese – Whipped Cream frosting.  I’d originally planned to make cake first thing in the morning, but things didn’t work out that way and after my first cake acting like a volcano and not baking in the middle, but burning on the edges, my second cake (and cupcakes) were just baking at 2:30 in the afternoon.  Somehow I still managed to get the cake done and frosted in plenty of time.  And Isaac couldn’t wait for “new yummy” when he woke up.

Here is a pic of the cake when I was just finished:

Here is we are as a family with the cake (you’ll noticed the nose/mouth has dropped to the ground):

And this last one is of the cut open cake and the birthday boy eating his cake. He finished his piece before we could get three cut.  Must have been good:

I borrowed the recipes from allrecipes (Strawberry Cake & Frosting) with some minor changes.

3 thoughts on “A New Year

  1. Same thing happen to me. I catch my youngest daughter cold. Now she almost well and I drag this cold through new year. Aches and headaches. I’m thankful for my oldest (pre teen) daughter,that she could cook like me and help me felt better!

Leave a Reply

