November 15, 2000

Ten years ago I was going through a tough period.  I was pretty depressed and so, one day I decided to stop by the daycare center I used to work at and see if they needed anyone.  I ended up running into someone I used to work with and she was now and manager there, so I had a job within five minutes.

I didn’t need a job.  I already had a great job that worked around my school schedule and allowed me to do schoolwork when we weren’t busy.  But I was alone a lot and I was starting to get bored.  I asked them if it would be okay to go part-time, only work mornings, so I could work at the daycare center in the afternoon.  The main reason I wanted to be at the daycare center was so because kids are great.  Especially young kids.  They talk to you and love on you all day.  It’s always good to feel needed and I was hoping it would help pull me out of my depression.

Well, it worked.  I loved being around the kids.  And there was this guy that worked there who kept flirting with me.  Of course, I flirted back.  We had a great time.  He got off at 5 and I got off at 6:30, so most of the time he’d come visit me in whatever room I was in.  If he was lucky, I was already working in his room.  Although this rarely happened, because his room was the school aged kids.  I liked to work with the 1 and 2 year olds.

I wasn’t really interested in this guy.  He was very different than me and truth be told, he’d stolen my job the first time I worked at the daycare center, so I wasn’t his biggest fan.  But the flirting was harmless.

November 15 came around.  I went to my first job, I went to school, my shift was almost over at the daycare center.  I remember I was all dressed up for the special day, yet no one had said anything.  Then this guy walks into my room and says, “Happy Birthday!”  I was confused, we hadn’t talked about my birthday in a while, but sure enough, he’d remembered – he was the only one to remember.

He snuck a little into my heart that day.  And he has been doing it ever since.  It’s hard for me to believe that was 10 years ago today and that I’ve spent 1/3 of my life with Zach, but man, that was one good birthday present!

Leave a Reply

