Days like today

I need more days like today.

We woke up early for us on a weekend: 8:30, showered then woke the kid up.  We ate breakfast and then headed down to the Children’s Museum.  We haven’t been there in about 2 months, and we’ve never gone as a whole family.  It was a good, relaxing time (with a few minor exceptions of kids being mean to Isaac).

On the way home we stopped for lunch and by the time we got home it was time for nap.  While Isaac napped, I got Zach to help me put air in my tires and I went on my first bike ride in about a year.  I bought this bike three-ish years ago – on a Wednesday – so Zach and I could ride together.  That Saturday we went on a bike ride.  I literally thought I was going to die.  I made it about a mile, before I thought I was going to puke.  We went home.  I spent an hour or so pacing the house, dizzy, feeling sick.  The next day we found out I was pregnant.  So much for bike riding for 9 months.  Then with a new baby it’s not like we can ride together anymore, so the thrill was lost.  I think I went on one bike ride last year.

Today, I hopped on and rode.  It was in the heat of the day (2:30), so I expected to get hot and not want to go far, but I really had fun.  I hadn’t had much water before my trip (only 2 cups to my normal 7 by that point), so I was a bit parched…next time I might consider my camelbak….I have it, might as well use it.  Anyway, I went a nice 3.5 miles, listen (and occasionally singing along) to worship music.  When I got home I felt so refreshed (and really sweaty!)

I had an hour or so to mess around on the computer and then we went to one of Zach’s co-workers houses for a BBQ.  We brought my mom and sat and watched the sunset and Isaac play.  So relaxing.  I love hanging out with my mom.  When we dropped my mom off, we decided to go inside and chat with my dad a bit, but he was video chatting with Stacy, so it turned into a whole family conversation….and of course, my “few minutes” turned into two hours.  Oops!

Now, we are home…in bed.  Isaac and Zach are watching Baby Signing Time (Isaac’s request) and I’m typing.  I didn’t do any laundry.  I didn’t do any dishes.  I didn’t sweep or vacuum or do any housework.  But I don’t feel guilty.  I had a good, relaxing day and spent great quality time with my family and God. 🙂

Leave a Reply

