Time

Once upon a time I went to college.

In that first year of college, I worked approx. 24 hours a week.  I drove 30 minutes to work and 30 minutes home.  I went to school full-time and spent 1 hour on the bus to school and 1 hour back.  I went to church across town (at least a 45 minute drive) and I went over there at least twice a week if not more.  Later in that year, I took on another job…still only working about 30 hours a week total between both my jobs, but still doing school.

Into my second year of college, I started dating Zach.  My dad still comments to this day that he never saw me and that I lived at Zach’s house.  Well, I kinda did….I just slept at Mom and Dad’s.  But if you look at my schedule, it’s easy to understand why we got into that pattern.

I started work at 6 AM.  In the middle of the day, I’d go to school, only to return to work in the afternoon and stay until 6PM.  I was working full-time, going to school just short of full-time.  It was a 45 minute drive home, but Zach’s house was only 30 minutes and on the way.  So, everyday I’d stop at his house.  We’d cook dinner and eat.  If I had a lot of homework, I might stay and do it while he watched hockey, or I might go home.  Either way, 9-10PM came really quick and I had to leave for work at 5:30AM and I needed my rest, so I’d rush home and go to bed.  On occassion, when I didn’t have much school work, I’d snuggle with Zach on the couch and watch a show or something, but I’d generally fall asleep.  We were in trouble if Zach fell asleep too, because then I wouldn’t make it home until midnight or so.

It’s no wonder my parents didn’t think I lived with them any more!

Now days, I wonder how I had the energy to pull all that off.  I mean, homework, driving, cooking, work, school, walking, catching trains, grocery shopping, finding recipes.

Today, Isaac and I went to the store.  It was almost 6PM, I’d gotten off work at 4:30PM.  Unlike the old days, I don’t have to commute, so why did it take me almost 1.5 hours to get to the store 5 minutes from my house?  How do people pull off long commutes?  I guess, once upon a time, I did, but I sure don’t want to again.

One thought on “Time

  1. I remember when Cari and I were dating, since she was still in high school her parents set a 10pm curfew for her. We would hang out until 10 and would always be back at her house before the 10pm deadline. Once there we would sit in the car talking till 4 – 5 am talking LOL. I sure couldn’t pull that off now that I have served time with 2 newborns. I’ve been reprogrammed 🙂

Leave a Reply

