Burning

I finally finished Fahrenheit 451 today. It’s taken me a couple of months, mainly because I don’t particularly care for the way Ray Bradbury writes. But the ideas presented in the book are great, but what I was really amazed at was the fact that the book was written in the ’50s. It’s amazing how closely our reality IS the future Bradbury wrote about. I’m not writing my review of 451 yet, but I thought I would share. Bradbury end the book with a couple of paragraphs that parallel Ecclesiastes 3. I laughed as I read it, because a few pages before pages before Montag (the main character) had meet up with the outcast and banished people who had “book” knowledge. They had asked him what he had to offer and he said the book of Ecclesiastes, but that he couldn’t remember it anymore. He read it once, but it was gone. And yet, it is the book of Ecclesiastes that is echoing in his head as the city is bombed. (Okay, way to much info if you haven’t read the book, but if you haven’t read it yet, chances are you never will….or maybe this intrigued you enough to make you.)


Ecclesiastes 3: 1-8

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under heave: a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant and a time to pluck up that which is planted; a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing; a time to get and a time to lose; a time to keep and a time to cast away; a time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak; a time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.

I know it sound funny, but I’ve heard those verses all my life, but I needed them today. And they found me, even if I wasn’t reading the Bible. God sends his messages, we just have to have the ears to hear and the willingness to listen.


I ran across this video today. It’s been hiding on my old camera since my birthday, but Lexi is so cute with the balloon I thought I’d share.

3 thoughts on “Burning

  1. FAHRENHEIT 451 is not Bradbury at his best, it’s Bradbury at his most earnest. Try SOMETHING WICKED THIS WAY COMES or DANDELION WINE. Bradbury has never forgotten what it feels like to be young and to have the first new pair of sneakers of the summer. He’s the best chronicler of childhood we have…trust me…

  2. F451 is very precient.
    I found the concept of the police videotaping their pursuit of a “criminal” a shocking development in the story as well in our culture many years after. It was as though the TV miesters (at least one of them sho could actually read) found the concept deaces later and adopted for COPS

Leave a Reply

