Holiday Traditions

With few exceptions, we all celebrate holidays of some sort.  A few religions don’t and I feel sorry for them.  I love to celebrate….I don’t really need a holiday, just a reason.  Life should be about celebrations, even the little things. 

I tend to tell people I don’t like holidays, but I’ll let you in on a little secret.  I love holidays!  I love celebrating!  Why then do I tell people I don’t like them at all.   First, it stems from expectations and if I have little expectation for a holiday, then not much can go wrong.  It seems as I was growing up, many fights surrounded holidays, whether they be birthday’s, Christmas, Easter, there seems to be a fight in my memory.  This is probably the strongest reason I “don’t like” holidays.  The minor thing, that especially surround Christmas  is the obligatory giving.  I like to give when I see something that is perfect for someone.  I do NOT like to try to find something that someone may or may not like.  It annoys me.

I’m excited this year.  I love being hostess and I’m hostess for several parties/dinners this year and it is making me super happy.  I want to break this “I don’t like holidays” cycle….so I need great, new, fun traditions.  What are traditions that you all have around the holidays?

7 thoughts on “Holiday Traditions

  1. I told you about our traveling traditions and that isn’t a good one to pass on. But, I do understand you when you talk about expectations, thats why I “hate” birthdays, although I am trying to come around on that one as well. Fights, messes, deaths, and other stuff cloud my memory on certain “celebration” days but all in all I actually love them also, especially Christmas. I heard this great story on K0Love this morning on my way to school. I will email it to you, I think you will like it.

  2. Let’s see,

    My entire life my brothers and I have always been required to write to santa and each year I am always stuck with the feeling that it is all so materialistic so I try to have some fun with the letters. Last years was written in Dr. Suess style. I’m not sure what I am going to do this year.
    Another tradition we have is going to olive garden on christmas eve, though I think we may have skipped a year or two.
    Apart from my family, I attend an annual holiday party which I have come to see as a party / concert. There is always caroling followed by someone on a guitar or the piano and we start singing modern songs. Being the anxious nerd I am I have prepared a set list for this year including favorites including “this is the First Day of my Life” by Bright Eyes and “Donde Esta Santa Claus” by Guster.
    I almost forgot the most important family tradition that I believe will never die. On all big holiday dinners it is customary for us to play trivial pursuit gentlemen vs ladies and it is always a close game. That is a fun one.
    Obviously, traditions are unique to people and I can easily see most people laughing at mine, but I enjoy them and that’s what matters.
    If you come up with anything new and fun I’d love to hear it. Good Luck!

  3. holidays for me are usually a fun-filled time of togetherness with family and friends. They are periods of relaxation and merriment, rituals and customs. Traditional festivities bring back images of my childhood and make me smile! I LOVE holidays!!

Leave a Reply

