Great Misery

I’ve been irritable lately and very snappy.  I was beyond annoyed all day yesterday, but I knew this, so I was avoiding people.  My plan was to come home and go to bed, not to sleep, just to watch TV and do Sudoku or something.  But we had to figure out dinner first…..

 Remember a few days ago I was suppose to be putting together a menu for the week and going to the store so I can lose some of this darn weight?  Well, yep, I didn’t work on it that day, but completed it on Monday.  Unfortunately I didn’t get to go to the store that night because we went downtown to see the play Pride and Prejudice.

side-note:Pride and Prejudice was great.  Zach saw the flyer at school when he got his student ID and it said with our ID we’d get $10 tickets.  Amazing.  We’ve spent so much time at the DCPA lately and everything has been so cheap (except the parking).  Anyway, I ran into Pride and Prejudice movie (2005) at the beginning of the summer.  I’d never been interested at all in the book or movies, but I was sick and it was on TV and was the only movie that had just started.  I fell in love.  I was so intrigued by the characters.  A month or so later I picked up the book on CD at the library and fell even more in love.  I couldn’t put it down.  When I was home I was reading the book (I’d had an old version on my shelf for years), in the car and at work I was listening to it.  I couldn’t stop talking about it, so when Zach say that is was showing, he said he wanted to take me.  WHAT!!!  I know, my husband wants to go to a play and more than that, Pride and Prejudice???  I told him several times I’d go with my sister or someone else, especially with the end of the semester and all, but he was insistent.  So, on Monday we went.  It was my first professional play and the stage was amazing and the lighting and sound and everything was great.  Zach laughed, I laughed, it was so much fun.  I did have to help explain the story to Zach because it moves so fast and is so involved, but he enjoyed it.  🙂  And I so loved it.  🙂  I suppose I should go read some other Jane Austen stuff.  🙂

 Anyway, back to the diet-food issue.  So we went to GoodTimes–Not diet food–and what did I get?  A cheeseburger with mayo only and a side of BBQ sauce.  Not so bad, right?  But then I got a whole order of chicken dunkers, I ate half Zach’s fries and drank half his Pepsi and I still wanted custard….but I did say no to that.  YAY!  🙂 

Tonight, I’m shopping on the way home.  Then I’m only getting the stuff on the list, except for Friday night (Cody’s birthday dinner), and Saturday night (Brian’s Christmas party).  Then I’ll have to create a new menu for next week, but then we are sticking to that until Friday (Zach’s Christmas party).  Holidays are the worst for food.  Ahhh….

After dinner I went home put my “sleeping clothes” on and watched TV.  I’m better mood wise today, but an email my husband sent me first thing this morning almost put me over the edge.  It wasn’t from him, but to him from a co-worker.  I’ve since calmed down and won’t go into the specifics.   And then, I get a voicemail on my home phone from one of my new customers.  Whose the wise-a$$ that gave them my home phone number?  Especially when I’m working in the office today???  Oooooo…..just made me so mad.  I told my boss about it and it pissed her off too and that made me feel better. 

Oh…ps….I changed my header to a Winter theme….what do you think?

2 thoughts on “Great Misery

  1. I like the Winter theme, and trust me I feel you pain with the dieting bit especially during the holidays. I wish you luck and will pray for will power for you. Anytime you need to vent or just be lazy you can always stop by on your way home from work, I have been home a lot more lately. 🙂

  2. This reminds me of the age old saying… “Don’t ask questions just say yes.” which applies beautifully to the play scenario.

Leave a Reply

