Night on the Town – Take Two

WOW….a really symphonic presentation is soooo much better than crap cover bands playing with the symphony. If you somehow missed that experience, you can get caught up here. We went to the Colorado Symphony this afternoon. The first two pieces were okay, but man, Beethoven’s 7th Symphony was amazing. I can’t hardly express it. 🙂 When Zach finishes his review for class, I will post a link, I’m sure it’ll be more in-depth. 🙂

The whole story starts weeks ago when we went to see the Dave Matthews Cover Band. It left us both wanting to see a real symphonic performance and since Zach has to go for school we checked the schedule and made plans to go to the performance last night.

Last night was the seventh anniversary of Zach and my first date…Read more about that here…anyway, since part of our first date consisted of walking around the floats for the parade of lights, we thought we’d go to the symphony and then walk around the floats after. Well, yesterday did not work out as planned.

LLLLLLLOOOOOOOOOOONNNNNNNNNNNNGGGGGGGGGGGG story, but I’m a bit upset with my family (parent’s and sister) because I’m trying to have my grandparents over for Christmas dinner the Sunday before and it’s turning into this grand production and it’s quite irritating. I won’t go into the specifics but late yesterday afternoon my mom and I were talking about it and I got really agitated. We were suppose to leave for the symphony at like 5 or 5:30, but we didn’t get out of the house until 6 and we had to go to the bank. I got snappy, which pissed Zach off and we didn’t talk most of the way down to the symphony. Then Zach said, “Look, we shouldn’t let your sister situation ruin our night. This is our night.” I started to loosen up a bit and then……wham! We get off the highway, we are about four blocks from the hall and traffic is completely stopped and not moving. It takes us 30 minutes to get to the parking garage only to find out it’s full. At this point it is now 7, when we thought the show was starting. I suggest that we just go to the show next week and go play games with our friends that invited us over earlier in the day. He is a little upset as it’s going to mess with his school work, I get mad again and then we aren’t talking again. Zach says he doesn’t want to go to our friends house to play games, but instead of driving to our house, he drive to there house. It is 20 miles away from our house. He gets off on the right exit, but can never remember how to get to his friend’s house and I won’t tell him. Finally, we take a big detour and get lost, but find the house, but haven’t heard from the friend (we tried to call). Neither one of us will get out of the car, so we head toward the shining lights in the sky, that happen to be at the mall. We have no clue what we are going to do, but at least we are now talking and being nice to each other. We pull in to a spot to park and……the phone rings.

Zach and Brian have a short conversation, in which we decide to go to his house to play games, but they have just sat down for dinner and won’t be home for 45 minutes. We are still dressed up for the Symphony, so we decide to drive all the way back home, change clothes and drive back. So that’s what we did. We fed the dogs when we were home and got gas and they called to tell us they were on the way back to the house. We got there about 5 minutes before they did and then had a nice evening (night, I suppose since it was from 9 to 1 that we were there). We played Cranium Pop5….it was fun, but the boys were much better than us girls.

This morning we woke up and checked the symphony schedule online to figure out next week. Turns out the show didn’t start until 7:30 last night and we probably could have made it. But, we also saw that they had a 2:30 show today, and since Zach really wanted to see the Beethoven piece, he decided to go to the symphony instead of watching the Bronco game! We quickly cut his hair (I’ve been promising him for weeks that I would cut it and it was WAY too long), jumped in the shower, programmed the VCR (yes, we live in the stone-age and don’t have TiVo), and headed downtown. We found a new place to park, saw a great performance and had a great time.

We didn’t have a chance to eat all day so we were starving. I wanted Taco Bell and Noodles. So, we stopped at Taco Bell for an appetizer (taco for me, burrito for Zach) drove 10 minutes down the road and had Noodles. Worked out pretty darn good. Although my Penne Rosa was not at all spicy like it’s suppose to be and they forgot to put the Parmesan in the Buttered Noodles Parmesan, but we got full.

Zach is now downstairs, working on his homework and watching the Bronco game that we recorded. I’m suppose to be working on the menu for the week. I’ve had a weight watchers account for the last year in order to lose my 20 pounds that I gained since we’ve been married, mainly last summer/fall, during the transition to being a teacher. I haven’t been good, except for a day here and there, so again, I’m going to try to make my menu for the week and go to the store. Now, that second part might be tricky, because it’s cold and all I want to do is curl up in bed and watch TV and play Sudoku. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Night on the Town – Take Two

  1. Glad it worked out but wow that was a lot of driving to finally get to a good time. We had a similar tense weekend, must have been in the air. 🙂

    We don’t have Tivo either…
    Hope you can work things out with your family. I hate having to deal with all that and over the holidays when it is supposed to be fun, I never understood why family always feels it necessary to make everything so difficult.

Leave a Reply

