To My Husband

As you know I’ve been reading through a lot of old emails.  I was concerned for you to read them, as I was afraid you’d say exactly what you did say.  You said you were joking, but I still think there might be a hint of truth in there.  But for me, as I read I remember the relationships that have since fallen away and I know they were preparing me for you.  As naive as I was when I met you, I did have to have a few emotional and different relationships to actually appreciate what a wonderful thing I have with you.

I know in the past I’ve wondered, and I probably will again in the future, but I’m glad I saved myself in every way for you.  Even my emotional walls were never broken down by anyone but you.  You are my everything and I don’t know how I’d live without you.  I can’t imagine spending one night without you sleeping by my side.  Thank you for being amazing.  Thank you for understanding me better than I understand myself.  Thank you for exposing me to a part of the world I’d never known.  Thank you for not judging me.  And thank you for sharing a faith with me.

As I read through my past life, I can’t help but get happier and happier.  I was so adamant about finding the right guy when I was growing up.  I tried so hard to make every guy that was interested in me into the “right one,” but somehow that right one, snuck up on me and whisked me off my feet.  And before I knew it, without trying or forcing it, I was in love and knew I needed you in my life for good.  Funny, seven years ago around this time you started pursuing me.  It seems like yesterday, but also a lifetime ago.  Every moment with you is a treasure…a gift from God.  I love you soooooooo much!!!

One thought on “To My Husband

  1. I don’t know what to say. True, some of what I said was the truth but still mostly a joke because I know that, in the end, I am the one who gets to spend the rest of my life with you. I am the lucky one. But you can’t feel bad if I do feel a little bit jealous, because I think you should be worried if I was not. No matter how you try to change the perspective, I will always feel as though I don’t really deserve you because you are a better person than me and I somehow stole you away. I feel lucky and sometimes amazed that you love me so much still after all this time, knowing what you know about me. There is no way that I can ever explain how lucky I really am and how that (and you) makes me feel. And there is also no way I can ever thank you so much for your love and devotion you have given to such an undeserving person.
    I LOVE YOU.

Leave a Reply

