Fantasy?

I was happy all day.  My husband comes home and I get depressed.  I’m not depressed that he is here, but something is definitely bothering me.  I can’t even figure out what it is.  And now I’m stuck, up past my bed time doing this stupid fantasy football draft.  Whoever thought football was fun and picking players you know nothing about would be fun.  I’m just getting in a worse and worse mood. 

Wanna know something funny?  I’ve noticed tonight that Zach is more affectionate when he is drafting for fantasy.  Yes, at the moment he isn’t paying any attention to me, but occasionally he’ll turn around and run his hand through my hair.  He hardly ever does that.  I wonder if doing something he enjoys makes him happy and it spreads the happiness.  But if that’s the case then I don’t really make him happy and that is very sad.  Hmmm.

I’m tired.  I just want to crawl into bed.  I think we’ve still got an hour.  This is miserable.  And Zach is so into it.  Doing research and whatnot.  Not me.  Takes me two seconds to decide who I want.  Football is stupid!

2 thoughts on “Fantasy?

  1. Look, I am sorry you didn’t really want to do the football thing but I asked you and you said you wanted to. If it puts you in this bad of a mood, I am sorry, that is not what it is for.
    Did you know that sometimes when you are at the computer I run my hands through your hair and feel like you didn’t even notice, now it seems I may be right. You do make me very happy, but it is hard to always have to argue that point with you and no matter what I say know you won’t believe me. I do enjoy when you do things I like, what is wrong with that?
    Sometimes I feel like you would rather have me like only things you like so you didn’t have to care about any other things. I try not to dog all the things you like that I am not into.
    Anyway, I Love You and I am sorry this night was sad and depressing to you. We will have a good weekend, getting things closer to done, going to the mountains, and spending 3 days together! Smile. It takes less muscles than frowning. You told me to remind you of that some day. 🙂

  2. My wife and I go through this a lot too. The bottom line is that we have our own things we like. Granted we have things in common we like, as I am sure both of you do, but we are individuals and have things that we like that the other tolerates at best. Sometimes when I get home from work all I want is to spend time with my wife and do something fun but she is on the computer posting on LJ or making graphics or arranging photographs. And by the time she wants to do something all I want to do is just sit on the couch and watch TV. And when we are in our “comfort zones” we tend to not notice the sweet gestures we do for each other.

    So I understand what it’s like from both perspectives. From the time that I’ve spent with both of you (and it’s not a lot) I can tell that you both love each other. And a lot of the time when we feel like the other person isn’t spending the time we want or doing the things we want we just need to step back and realize that they love us with all their hearts and that they aren’t doing those things to neglect or annoy us. We’ve all been in the other persons position before and we just need to realize that we never stopped caring for them and that they still care about us. This is one of the biggest things I have struggled with, and I have felt the way you have, but I just needed to step back for a minute and consider the whole situation. Of course that only works maybe 75% of the time. Just hang in there, we all have our moments of self pity, but I know that you two mean the world to each other and you will get through this. Remember, tomorrow is a brighter day.

Leave a Reply

