Dinner with a Friend

Yesterday I went to dinner with Keri.  She kept asking me why I was so quiet and I don’t really know.  It’s like I’m a different person when I work in the office all day.  I’m quiet, withdrawn and slow.  When I was a teacher, that never really happened.  I think I was always a bit private (withdrawn) until people got to know me, but overall, I wasn’t quiet and generally wasn’t slow.  I processed things at a faster speed.   Keri would tell you that I still couldn’t multitask, but my multitasking abilities and hers just differ.  She has an uncanny ability to stay focused on one thing while doing something else, but I can get distracted and have to pause to regroup.  I don’t know if that made any sense, if you know us both, it probably does. 🙂

Ahh…this post began with dinner with a friend.  Keri and I are so different.  School brought us together and through her I still keep in touch with that world.  I love it.  I miss teaching, but I don’t.  I’m sure it’s like any job.  But ultimately, I want to go back and I want to go back to Gateway.  Keri and I were talking last night about the fact that Gateway has the perfect population 30/30/30/10…..and for those who want to know what those numbers stand for it’s race: black/white/hispanic/other.  I guess some of the new teachers weren’t prepared for the diversity and don’t like it and are already planning on leaving.  Can you imagine, being three weeks into a job and knowing you want to leave, but having to wait 9 months?  And 9 months in the teaching world is much longer than 9 months in the business world.

Leave a Reply

