Amazing Day

Today was an amazing day. I’ve really been pretty negative lately and that’s why I feel the need to get this down. I don’t like being the negative person I’ve been lately, but sometimes you turn into the people you are around. How do you distance yourself from the people you work with? Oh, right, without looking like a snobby bitch. If anyone knows the answer to that one, I’d greatly appreciate it.

Anyway, it started last night. We had a teacher meeting, which are typically pointless and frustrating, but last night I felt positive when I left. Like the speaker really did provide something that I can use we my students. That is wonderful. Show me the nitty-gritty, not the “big picture.” Afterwards I went to a 1 hour Aerobics 101 class. I went to the same class last week and almost died about three times. What I mean by that is that I really almost pasted out. I hate that feeling; makes me feel ridiculous. Anyway, this week was perfect. I was extremely sore when I got home, but no dizzy, passing out stages. YAY!!!

Maybe it’s the Oreos that are putting me in a good mood. I haven’t had Oreos in ages, but we bought a package on Sunday night, and, man, are they good. I have a few before bed. I know, probably counter-acting the workout, but…..what can you do?

Anyway, today I was stood up by my assistant principal twice. We had a meeting scheduled for first period, but he wasn’t ready. I was pretty frustrated at first because I get myself all worked up for these meetings, but somehow I managed to not let it effect my mood…..that was a good thing.

My third period class, typically the class that can put me in a bad mood the fastest because they used to talk so much, were perfect angels. When I talked they pretended to listen and what more can you really ask of students? ๐Ÿ™‚ I was amazed that they weren’t talking, but it is probably because I made all the talkers so mad that they dropped my class at semester. But in a way I don’t feel like I have to jump on every little thing anymore just to show I’m tough, because the students who are still around are the ones that want to learn.

This caused me to be in terrific mood for 5th. 5th Period has to be my favorite bunch of kids. I really do love them, but they are my worst class. They have the highest percentage of Ds and Fs. They have traditionally been my smallest class and then half of the student that were enrolled ditched (class right after lunch), but somehow they’ve added about 7 or 8 students to the class that show up and a few that never came before have decided to come. YAY!! So, I introduced poetry to them and told them how I like poetry, but don’t LOVE it and how writing poetry is still a challenge for me because I feel like I’m doing it wrong, but that I will write with them and share as well. This is the only class I told all this too, I’m closest to them and they need to know that I understand them. I then decided that it was a good time to give a motivationally speech. I talked to them about getting the most out of their free education, that just because they don’t get something one day doesn’t mean that they shouldn’t show up in class they next day and try, the only way to pass a class is to attend. I drew a little diagram on the board and told them that each box represented a semester in school and showed them what happens when they fail a class. Then I told them that I wanted all of them to pass all of their classes, not just mine, and that I would do anything (within reason) to help them. I said, “If you need a little extra help in science, but don’t want to talk to the teacher and will talk to me, I’ll help you as much as I can.” They chuckled a bit, which meant they were listening, somewhat surprising for that class. When I went to move on they all clapped for me, it was so cute and made me feel like I made the right decision to talk to them about it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, Newspaper got a little crazy as I had to write one of my editor-in-chiefs a referral because she kept throwing pens (others were doing it too, but I only saw her). I told them that the next person that threw a pen would get a referral I didn’t care who. So, she was the next person I saw. Anyway, I wrote the referral and walked her all the way down there. We found out that the punishment would be Saturday school and then we talked about it. I told her, I wouldn’t turn it in this time, but they next time I see her throw a pen I will definitely take it back. She’s mad at me now, but I honestly didn’t have any other choice but to send her down there. We can’t have pens flying all over the room, it’s dangerous.

Anyway, went back to the gym tonight. I just have to keep reminding myself, this is a good thing! ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh, and here are some pics from last weekend. You know I couldn’t leave you without pics. ๐Ÿ™‚ We played rummy, well spider rummy with Russ and Stacy. When it wasn’t my turn I was taking random pic, my favorite is my ivy that is finally starting to grow back. **sidebar – I killed it last summer when I forgot to water it in the extreme heat**

1. IVY ๐Ÿ™‚

2. My cute hubby, playing cards.

3. Stacy, looking beautiful. She refuses to take her coat off at my house.

4. The only shot I got of Russ without the cards in front of his face. I think he might be scared of the camera.

5. Me….crappy self portrait, but I couldn’t leave myself out. ๐Ÿ™‚

6. Sleepy Lexi, upset there is too much noise.

7. One of my fav pics ever of Guinness.

Leave a Reply

