email 11.21.99 // Re: Hey from Crystal

From: Jenn
To: Crystal
Date: 11.21.1999

Hey Crystal!

It sounds like you are having a ton of fun.  I’m glad.  I guess everything is over between you and Keith, huh? :o)  Everything is over between me and Jeremy, the guy from Wisconsin that I went to prom with.  I decided I wanted to define our relationship, so I told him that we were just friends and then told him about my boyfriend.  I don’t think he is too happy, but I decided it was best for me to tell him than to let him think there was still a possibility for us to someday get together.  I don’t think I’ve told you about my boyfriend, Nathan, have I?  Well, I’ll give you the short version and just tell you the best details…

Well, on the first day of school I was looking at all the people in my class and trying to learn names and everything and for some reason I was really attracted to this one guy.  He wasn’t really great looking, but there was just something about him that I felt drawn too.  Over the weeks I tried to talk to him every now and then, but I always felt like he didn’t want to talk to me.  Within this time I had been asked out by several other guys, but they either weren’t Christians or they were too girl crazy.  Anyway one Monday about 5 weeks ago, Nathan, the guy I was attracted to was talking to me on the lightrail and when we came to his stop, he stood up and tried to hand me a piece of paper.  I told him I didn’t want it because I thought it was a piece of trash or something.  He eventually just threw it at me and got off the bus.  I read it and I felt so guilty for not taking it.  It was a poem that he wrote to me about how much he liked me and would like to get to know me better.  I was so amazed.  Never have I really liked and guy and had him like me back.  I either liked the guy and he didn’t like me and he liked me and then I started to like him because he liked me.  Anyway, I didn’t know what to do.  I finally worked up the courage to call him and he wasn’t home so I had to leave a message.  He called back that night at 11 and work up my family, but it was okay.  He told me he would just call me back later.  We never got in touch until Wednesday, but then we started talking and getting to know each other.  Anyway, I’ll cut out a lot of the details or this e-mail might be 20 pages long, but I found out that he’s a Christan and has a great personality and view on life.  I love being around him and he seems to love being around me.  On my birthday we finally made things official or actually told each other that we thought of the other one as a boyfriend and girlfriend.  It’s still a strange thought for me.  I look at him and I have to tell myself that he is my boyfriend and he cares about me.  I have this tendency to push people away when they get too close.  I don’t think he will be scared off by that though.  Anyway, on Wednesday we went to the Av’s game.  The tickets were $105 and we were the second row away from the Av’s players bench.  It was so much fun, but I didn’t get home until midnight and then I had to go to work at 7.  I was so tired, but it was worth it.  Anyway, we always go out and do things together and we’re always on the phone.  Well, that’s my story.  I hope to hear from you soon.  We still need to set a date when we can go do something together.  Maybe over winter break or something.  Let me know.  Oh, I also have a different e-mail address if you would like to change it, it’s ….. Talk to you later.

Love ya,
Jennifer

Leave a Reply

