email 10.12.99 // Are you happy?

From: Mr. Stewart
To: Jenn
Date: 10.12.1999

Jenn,

 

Are you happy? That is more important than a boyfriend. Don’t worry about being frustrated. It happens to everyone. I get frustrated every day. Then I figure out how to unlock the door to my room and it isn’t so bad. You are the best student I ever had! Not the one with the best grades or the most intelligent. You were the best! You have everything you need to be the best. Western Civ is a crock! Don’t let the bastards wear you down! The only important thing is that you know who you are. I know who you are. Jennifer ….. is a person who all fathers and mothers want their daughters to be. She is a quiet, unassuming young lady who leads by example. Of course she doesn’t have a boyfriend, but…don’t get down on yourself! The next time you think about dropping out you come and see me. I will show you my grades in college. You have something special. Don’t give up on it.

 

Who is this Jeremy? Do I know him? He doesn’t drive a van does he? Jeremy? Isn’t that a gang name? I think I have to approve of this guy. Is he rich?

 

Please come and visit. I miss you. The best time to come is from 11:00 to 12:00 or after 1:45. I will take you to lunch or feed you a bagel on Wednesday. Com and see me over Thanksgiving. Don’t you get that whole week off? Come to see me anytime. I really don’t teach anyway.

 

Stewart

Leave a Reply

