From a mistake

Before Lynzie, we were eating a grilled meat (steak, chicken or pork), a baked potato and broccoli for dinner pretty much every night.  After Lynzie, I could eat what I want, so dinner was up in the air again.  I have to say our first few days home from the hospital weren’t the greatest food.  We pretty much had Kraft Mac and Cheese except for the nights a few people brought us food, and even then it was sometimes just homemade mac and cheese.

Last week, I decided to return to planning and preparing dinners, it felt right.  I don’t remember what we had on monday, but it was successful…Tuesday was another story.  I wanted to make a Haitian beans and rice recipe I’d seen on blog I read.  It called for the use of dry beans.    I quick soaked them and then began following the directions, which said to boil for 45 minutes.  I set the timer so I wouldn’t forget and went up stairs to put laundry away–30 minutes later I could smell burning.  I went down stairs and my beans are black, the pan is black and they are no where near done.  I was so mad.  I ran water over them, turned off the stove and told Zach I was taking a shower.

While I was in the shower, Zach cooked dinner.  He knows once I’m mad about food, I won’t make a decision and then I just get madder because I’m hungry.  We ended up with Mac and Cheese and tuna at 9PM.

On Wednesday, I was determined to try again.  I started a little earlier, so if things went south, we had time to make another meal, and this time when I boiled the beans for 45 minutes, I covered them and simmered them AND I found a project to keep me IN the kitchen.  45 minutes later and the beans still had plenty of liquid and I continued on.  They were good beans and rice, but the star of the night was my side project.

We had three bananas that were past eating, but not past making something with.  I thought of making Banana Bread, Banana cookies, Banana roll and then suddenly, I decided I was going to make banana pudding.  At first I thought I was just going to use the instant pudding mix I had in the pantry, but then I remembered I don’t really like instant pudding…it has a yucky after taste.  So I began browsing the web.  I ended up combining ideas from a few places, but the main ideas came from here.  The end result topped with homemade whipped cream, was amazing and so rich you really didn’t need a lot.  A perfect dessert.  We ended up eating the rest for Thanksgiving and the family loved it.

Banana Pudding – Jenn’s Style

INGREDIENTS:

  • Vanilla Wafers, crushed in big pieces.
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/8 teaspoon table salt
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 5 large egg yolks, lightly beaten
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 medium bananas

DIRECTIONS

  1. Place bananas on cookie sheet and bake on middle rack of 325° oven until black.  About 20 minutes.  Remove and allow to cool. about 5 minutes.
  2. Line 9-inch pie pan with crushed wafers.
  3. In sauce pan, mix sugar, cornstarch and salt together.  Add in heavy cream and stir until smooth.  Beat in eggs and then milk.
  4. While constantly stirring bring mixture to a boil on medium to medium-low heat.  Continue to stir until starts to thicken.
  5. Strain through sieve to remove any lumps and place in bowl.  Add in the roasted bananas and stir.  (I used my hand mixer to get it well blended up).  Stir a few more times as it cools.  About 10 minutes.
  6. Put pudding mixture on top of wafers in the pie pan and cover with plastic wrap.  Make sure the plastic is touching the pudding.
  7. Refrigerate for at least 3 hours.
  8. Serve with fresh whipped cream.

I will never ever make instant pudding again!

 

One thought on “From a mistake

  1. Sounds like a recipe will have to try!
    We’ve made huge leaps and bounds over here in eating out less and now I’m working on getting rid of processed foods. It’s hard while we’re here, but I do what I can. Anyway, it’s funny what you said about getting hungry and getting mad and just wanting to eat; I’m the same way! It’s my biggest problem with fast foods and convenience foods because I don’t always plan meals in time, then I get suddenly hungry and have to eat immediately. Ha ha. Well, it’s all a work in progress, anyway.

Leave a Reply

